He is Miraculously Wonderful

A Friend’s Curious Question

A friend once asked me, “How can you live in this day and age and possibly believe Jesus was anything more than a good man? How can you believe ‘miraculous’ events of the Bible like Jesus being born of a virgin, living a sinless life, performing miracles, or resurrecting from the dead can be real?” Years ago, I had trouble explaining why I believe these things beyond retorting something like, “I believe it because the Bible says it happened.” These days, I know it must be true from the deepest corners of my soul.

When I was walking through some of the darkest moments of my life a couple of years ago, I was struggling with life events that left me feeling like my problems were bigger than God could possibly be. My heart ached for a God who was in control of all things, but my mind and my physical person were beaten down and unwilling to believe. I didn’t even realize at the time I had already replaced His sovereign ways for a lesser version. Although I had seen Him come to my rescue several other times before, the memory and passion of those events dulled over the years because I stopped looking to Him to provide for my daily needs. Suddenly, I found myself aimlessly drifting through this life, attempting to provide my own self-sufficience when faced with problems, and I was regularly overwhelmed by my circumstances.

A Hard Look

Through my battle with darkness, I was forced to take a hard look at what I believed and who I was as a person. In those moments of soul searching, I found a frail person, clinging to faith and truth by a wisp of understanding. Thank goodness for His mercies in providing eternal life for those of us with so little faith! I realized at that moment I didn’t understand even a hint of who He truly is or what He is capable of doing.

Day of Truth

At the climax of my struggles, I realized I couldn’t move forward another step without divine intervention. I had reached my limits; and, in my complete brokenness, I cried out for Him to release me from the burdens shackling me.

As I’ve learned time and again over the years, the moments that cause us to release control is when we see His powerful glory manifest. He is a loving father. He is a powerful healer. He answers prayer and fulfills the needs of His children. He was powerful in ancient times, and He’s just as powerful now!

At the risk of sounding a little crazy, here is a list of what I’ve seen Him do in my life and in the lives of others:

– He redirected the path of my life in an instant of hearing my cries for help with too many coincidental factors for it to possibly only be coincidence.

– He completely healed a young man of an inoperable, supposedly fatal case of lymphoma.

– He healed a close family friend of spinal cancer.

– He healed a pair of legs (mine!) from severe shin splints without a trace of pain, discoloration, or swelling left behind — within an instant!

– He touched a dear friend of mine who was coming down with the flu, immediately curing her and removing fever from her skin during prayer.

– He has powerfully transformed the lives of people close to me who simply found the courage to trust Him as their Savior.

I’ve also felt His nudges, heard His voice, and literally felt Him peel away the oppression tormenting my troubled spirit through those dark days. I’ve never looked back because I’ll never be the same person. As promised in His Word, I am a new creation (Ephesians4:23-24). It’s undeniable to know He is real when He shakes us to the core!

Final Thought

As each day passes, I find it easier to believe what’s been written about Him in the Bible. After all that’s happened, how could I not believe He is real? What do you believe?

Leave a Reply

