Reflecting on a Decade

Yesterday, New Year’s Eve, was my favorite day of the year. It was a moment to reflect on all God did in the last twelve months and the great anticipation of what’s to come. It’s even more significant at the turn of a new decade.

Over the last ten years, I experienced such exponential closeness with Father God than ever before. It was truly a season of discovery for my spiritual journey that began in a small office, dreaming of what the future might hold and hoping in a God who was good enough to see me reach it. In the first few years of the decade, I lost myself in the deep, unrelenting grip of anxiety, had a real encounter with the living God who healed me from that disorder in a miraculous way, and began The In-Place Missionary (now loveroars.com) to share the Gospel and resurrection power of Jesus that healed me with the world.

Throughout the rest of the decade, I sold a house, bought a new one, lost loved ones, got promoted, changed careers and changed careers again. I grew closer in relationship with

Abby at 9 weeks old
Abby as a pup

my husband and gained a furry family member, a dachshund named “Abby”. I joined the group of writers with GOD TV and decided to pursue a life-long dream to create wearable designs and home decor (coming soon!). God also allowed me to co-lead worship at my church, and I’ve gained friendships through that house of worship that are as close and deep as family.

I’m certain there are more milestone events from the decade I’m not remembering, but when I look back, I can see an overflow of blessings. Of course, punctuated moments of sadness occurred, but I also see the hand of God guiding each step of the path I walked, giving each footfall meaning and purpose. I’m so thankful for all of it. Glory to the Father.

Debuting one of my new designs
Debuting one of my new designs!

I pray this post will remind you to reflect on the last decade and remember all the blessings filling your days, weeks, months, and years and give thanks to the One who gives you each beautiful morning. Let’s look forward together to all that God is about to do in this new year and new decade, and may the blessings in your life be abundant and overflow.

Love,
Heather

Leave a comment